UNFD Presents: Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair

By October 12, 2017 Culture, News

To celebrate 20 years since the release of Silverchair’s ARIA #1 seminal sophomore album Freakshow, UNFD will release Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair on November 17.

Please Like us on Facebook to continue reading.

Created with the blessing of Silverchair’s team, Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair showcases some of Australia’s best heavy acts covering some of the band’s biggest hits from their stellar discography. Featuring covers from The Amity Affliction, Hands Like Houses, Tonight Alive, In Hearts Wake, Ocean Grove and more, Spawn (Again) will introduce the talent and legacy of Silverchair to a new generation of heavy music fans.

The first single lifted from the tribute is Northlane’s cover of ‘Anthem For The Year 2000’. For the band’s guitarist Jon Deiley, this song played a significant part in his formative years: “Anthem For The Year 2000 was the first Silverchair song I ever heard. To me as a young kid, it was intense and heavy and it wasn’t til a few years later that I really began to appreciate the impact their music had on me at an early age. I think Australia’s love for Silverchair runs deep and their influence on Australian music is still felt today. There’s very few bands who can bring together artists to celebrate their work, and Silverchair is one of them.”

Click below to listen to Northlane’s version of “Anthem For The Year 2000”.

The tracklist goes like this:

1. The Amity Affliction – Tomorrow
2.Void of Vision – Israel’s Son
3. In Hearts Wake – Freak
4. The Brave – Cemetery
5. Northlane – Anthem For The Year 2000
6. Hands Like Houses – Ana’s Song (Open Fire)
7. Ocean Grove – Spawn (Again)
8. Storm The Sky – Emotion Sickness
9. Tonight Alive – Without You
10. Columbus – Straight Lines