City And Colour announce new album ‘The Hurry And The Harm’ for June

By March 26, 2013 August 22nd, 2016 Culture, News

City and Colour—acclaimed singer, songwriter and performer Dallas Green—will release his highly anticipated new album, The Hurry and The Harm, June 3 on Cooking Vinyl.

City and Colour

Available as a pre-order April 9 on iTunes, the record will also be offered as a deluxe version, which includes three bonus tracks (a new exclusive song, ‘The Way It Used To Be’, as well as acoustic versions of ‘Of Space And Time’ and ‘Harder Than Stone’). Deluxe pre-orders will also include an instant download of the track ‘Thirst’. As a special preview to fans, a sneak peak and free download of ‘Of Space And Time’ is now available here: Additionally, an exclusive in-studio album teaser recently premiered at YouTube.

‘The Hurry and The Harm’ is Green’s fourth release as City And Colour and follows 2011’s ‘Little Hell’, which received widespread critical and commercial praise. The album debuted at #1 on Canada’s Top 200 Chart, #28 in the US, #2 in Australia and top 40 in the UK and went on to be certified RIAA Platinum in Canada and RIAA Gold in Australia.

Widely recognised for his live performances, City And Colour has sold out countless shows worldwide, including sold-out, UK headline performances at London’s Royal Albert Hall and two nights at The Roundhouse. He has also performed at Bonnaroo, Coachella, Sasquatch, Austin City Limits, Lollapalooza, the Newport Folk Festival and Glastonbury. City And Colour will celebrate the release of ‘The Hurry And The Harm’ with a forthcoming European tour that includes a performance at London’s Bush Hall that sold out on Friday 22 in a matter of minutes. The shows will feature a brand new touring band including Jack Lawrence (The Raconteurs, Dead Weather) on bass, Dante Schwebel (Hacienda, Dan Auerbach) on guitar, Doug MacGregor (Constantines) on drums and Matt Kelly on pedal steel guitar and keys.

Recorded at Nashville, Tennessee’s Blackbird Studios during the fall/winter of 2013, the new album was produced once again by Alex Newport (At The Drive-In, Death Cab for Cutie and The Mars Votla). In addition to Green, the album features Jack Lawrence on bass (The Raconteurs, The Dead Weather), Bo Koster on keys (My Morning Jacket), Matt Chamberlain (Pearl Jam, Fiona Apple) and James Gadson (Bill Withers, BB King) on drums and Spencer Cullum (Caitlin Rose) on pedal steel.

Of the new album, Green comments, “I don’t have a lot of faith in myself, so it is hard for me to have a lot of faith in something I have created. But I’ve never been happier or prouder about something that I have done.”


01 – ‘The Hurry And The Harm’
02 – ‘Harder Than Stone’
03 – ‘Of Space And Time
04 – ‘The Lonely Life’
05 – ‘Paradise’
06 – ‘Commentators’
07 – ‘Thirst’
08 – ‘Two Coins’
09 – ‘Take Care’
10 – ‘Ladies And Gentlemen’
11 – ‘The Golden State’
12 – ‘Death’s Song’