Naked Lungs announce debut album Doomscroll with new single ‘Pressure’

By Levi Mulholland
By May 9, 2023 Culture, News

Naked Lungs announce their debut album, Doomscroll, is set to drop on August 18th with the release of the visceral single ‘Pressure.’

The Irish noise-punks are riding a current of positive press, after being featured as one of the NME 100 for 2023, in addition to support from Anthony Fantano of The Needle Drop and Radio 6 Music’s Steve Lamacq. Doomscroll was recorded and mixed by Daniel Fox of fellow noise-punks Gilla Band at Sonic Studios in Dublin.

2022 saw the release of several singles and a self-titled EP from the band, garnering them radio play on Radio 6 Music and BBC Radio 1, as well as a UK tour and multiple sold-out shows in Dublin. The band are emblematic of a larger trend of Irish noise rock-leaning bands, alongside the likes of Gilla Band, Just Mustard and Enola Gay, and look to continue the success seen by their contemporaries.

Naked Lungs have also released a music video for ‘Pressure’ – directed by bassist Ryan Mortell – which looks to exemplify the themes of “male vulnerability, toxic masculinity and the inevitable downward spiral as a result of not addressing these issues” expressed in the lyrics, presenting “anxiety and toxicity boiling over to manifest itself as a literal monster for us to overcome.”

The band state that over Doomscroll’s 10 tracks, the album recreates the feeling someone might get as they scroll through bad news after bad news, with each track “acting almost as another article.” The band comment that whilst the ferocity they are known for is present on the album, they also explore wider dynamics, taking influence from post-rock and new wave at points.  With Doomscroll, Naked Lungs look to put their definitive stamp on their caustic noise-punk stylings and explore the outermost limits of what they are capable of.

Doomscroll is set to release on 18th August


  1. Gack
  2. Second Song
  3. River (Down)
  4. Relentless
  5. Shell
  6. Outcome
  7. Pressure
  8. Database
  9. The Garden
  10. Boo Boo