Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross collaborate for ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’ soundtrack

By December 7, 2011 September 6th, 2016 Culture

Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross have announced the release of their soundtrack to David Fincher’s adaptation of ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’ on Mute (excluding N. America and Mexico), this marks the second time Reznor and Ross have teamed up with Fincher (having previously collaborated on their Academy Award-winning score for Fincher’s box office hit ‘The Social Network’).


Reznor states: “For the last fourteen months Atticus and I have been hard at work on David Fincher’s ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’. We laughed, we cried, we lost our minds and in the process made some of the most beautiful and disturbing music of our careers. The result is a sprawling 3-hour opus that I am happy to announce is available for pre-order right now. The full release will be available this week – December 9.

You have two options right now:


Visit iTunes where you can immediately download Karen O’s and our version of Led Zeppelin’s ‘Immigrant Song’ when you pre-order the soundtrack. You will also be able to exclusively watch the legendary eight-minute trailer you may have heard about (no purchase necessary obviously). We scored this trailer separately from the film, BTW. Or…


Visit our store We’re offering a variety of purchasing options including multiple format high-quality digital files, CDs and a really nice limited edition deluxe package containing vinyl and a flash drive. In addition, right now you can download a six-track, 35 minute sampler with no purchase necessary.”


Opening in UK cinemas on December 26, one of 2011’s most hotly anticipated films, ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’ is adapted from Stieg Larsson’s bestselling book, and stars Rooney Mara as the tattooed protagonist alongside lead actor Daniel Craig.

The album will be available as two physical formats; a 3x CD digipak and a Deluxe Limited Edition metal signed and numbered box version which will include six vinyl discs, exclusive artwork and a special razor blade-shaped USB drive (inspired by Lisbeth’s razor blade necklace) containing the full album in high-fidelity 96k audio. The album will also be available as a digital download, including a high quality audio FLAC or Apple Lossless version.

Reznor describes his and Atticus Ross’s eagerly awaited soundtrack for ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’ as being “all based on performance, nothing programmed, with a really interesting, organic, layered feel – something we’ve never done before.”

Album tracklisting

1 – ‘Immigrant Song – Karen O (Yeah Yeah Yeahs) with Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross’
2 – ‘She Reminds Me Of You’                                            
3 – ‘People Lie All The Time’                                                     
4 – ‘Pinned And Mounted’                                                     
5 – ‘Perihelion’                                                                       
6 – ‘What If We Could?’                                                              
7 – ‘With The Flies’                                                                       
8 – ‘Hidden In Snow’                                                              
9 – ‘A Thousand Details’                                                     
10 – ‘One Particular Moment’                                            
11 – ‘I Can’t Take It Anymore’                                                     
12 – ‘How Brittle The Bones’                                                     
13 – ‘Please Take Your Hand Away’                 
14 – ‘Cut Into Pieces’                                                              
15 – ‘The Splinter’                                                                       
16 – ‘An Itch’                                                                                
17 – ‘Hypomania’                                                                       
18 – ‘Under The Midnight Sun’                                            
19 – ‘Aphelion’                                                                       
20 – ‘You’re Here’      
21 – ‘The Same As The Others’                                            
22 – ‘A Pause For Reflection’                                                     
23 – ‘While Waiting’                                                                       
24 – ‘The Seconds Drag’                                                              
25 – ‘Later Into The Night’                                                     
26 – ‘Parallel Timeline With Alternate Outcome’                  
27 – ‘Another Way Of Caring’                                                     
28 – ‘A Viable Construct’                                                              
29 – ‘Revealed In The Thaw’                                                     
30 – ‘Millennia’                                                                       
31 – ‘We Could Wait Forever’                                                     
32 – ‘Oraculum’                                                                       
33 – ‘Great Bird Of Prey’                                                              
34 – ‘The Heretics’                                                                       
35 – ‘A Pair Of Doves’                                                              
36 – ‘Infiltrator’                                                                                         
37 – ‘The Sound Of Forgetting’                                            
38 – ‘Of Secrets’                                                                       
39 – ‘Is Your Love Strong Enough?’


For more information visit the official ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’ website.