Harry George Johns readies solo album for 2013

By Dom Smith
By December 4, 2012 January 25th, 2013 Leeds, News

It’s bloody good to see Harry George Johns back! After touring and recording as a part of bands Dinosaur Pile Up and Old Romantic Killer Band, Leeds based musician Harry George Johns is now solo with his new mini album ‘Post Breakdown Blues’ which will be out on February 11, 2013.

The mini album is a personal diary of a dark and desperate time. As Winter 2011 was in full flow, Harry found himself confronting issues such as mental illness, heartbreak and homelessness.  He stayed on a mate’s floor with a laptop and a few microphones, and inspired by this dark time, Harry wrote and recorded ‘Post Breakdown Blues’. Harry says: “Over the course of one single week in December 2011, I lost my girl, my house, my job and pretty much my mind. I was sat in The Well in Leeds with a bag of clothes and my skateboard trying to figure out not what went wrong, but simply where I was going to sleep that night.

Drinking and drugs and all that stuff had taken over during the run-up to me losing everything. I knew I had to finally go talk to the doctors and therapists people had spent months urging me to see. If there was anything that was going to help me pull through what looked to be the most heartbroken, poorest new year so far it was a handful of friends that let me sleep on their sofas, eat their toast and play their guitars. It was my time spent with hometown-friend Matthew Wright in his humble home studio that we created ‘Post Breakdown Blues’. This record is just some of the soundtrack to my breakdown, my loneliness, introspection and just trying to get fixed.”

Fans will be able to download the mini album from his Bandcamp on a “pay what you want” basis, just in time for Valentine’s Day, but those who want to get to know the man behind the music will have the opportunity to write Harry a letter, and Harry will reply with a personal note and exclusive tracks only available via old fashioned snail mail.

The tracklist is below:

1 – ‘Tie Your Own Noose’
2 – ‘All You Can Do’
3 – ‘Drink Myself To Sleep’
4 – ‘Sleep Is The Cousin Of Death’
5 – ‘Morning Song’
6 – ‘Hospital Blues’


Leave a Reply