The Pigeon Detectives announce new album and tour

By February 1, 2011 December 29th, 2021 Leeds

The Pigeon Detectives are pleased to announce details of a new single, a new album and their first UK headline shows since selling out London’s Alexandra Palace at the end of 2008. In the interim, the band took leave before recharging and have spent the past year writing and demoing in New York before recording in earnest  in the Autumn of 2010.


The entire experience has been a new one for the quintet from Leeds whose two previous albums  – which have now sold in excess of  half a million copies in the UK , were written and recorded  on home turf and the first fruits of which will be the brand new single ‘Done In Secret’.


Recorded at Brooklyn Recording Company with Justin Gerrish taking on production and mixing duties, the album ‘Up, Guards And At ‘Em!’ will be released on April 4 through Dance To The Radio and will be available on vinyl, CD and digitally via all usual outlets. The full tracklisting:


1. ‘She Wants Me’


2. ‘Lost’


3. ‘What Can I Say?’


4. ‘Need To Know This’


5. ‘Done In Secret’


6. ‘What You Gonna Do ?’


7. ‘Turn Out The Lights’


8. ‘Through The Door’


9. ‘Go At It Completely’


10. ‘I Don’t Know You’


For a sneak preview of the new album, watch footage of the band recording the album in NYC below.


The track is also streamed here:


Meanwhile the band have also announced details of  their first  headlining UK shows of 2011 and will  be airing tracks off the new album when they appear as follows:








30 – MANCHESTER – Ritz


31 – LIVERPOOL    – Academy




2 – BIRMINGHAM – Institute


3 – OXFORD – Academy


6 – LONDON – Shepherds Bush Empire

8 – BOURNEMOUTH – Old Fire Station

9 – PORTSMOUTH – Wedgewood Rooms

10 – BRISTOL – Trinity

11 – COVENTRY – Kasbah

12 – LEEDS    – Metro University

Tickets are available from venue box offices, online via and 24hr CC hotline – 08448110051 from 9am on Friday, February 4, 2011.


For more information visit the official website.