Snow Patrol announce UK tour dates for 2012

By November 8, 2011 April 17th, 2015 Manchester

Multi-platinum Irish/Scottish five-piece Snow Patrol release their sixth studio album ‘Fallen Empires’ on Fiction Records on November 14, 2011. Recorded in Los Angeles with long-time producer Garret “Jacknife” Lee, ‘Fallen Empires’ features the hit ‘Called Out In The Dark’ and new single ‘This Isn’t Everything You Are’.


Snow Patrol – singer Gary Lightbody, guitarist Nathan Connolly, bassist Paul Wilson, drummer Jonny Quinn and keyboardist, Tom Simpson – recorded ‘Fallen Empires’ at Eagles Watch in Santa Monica. Tracks were mixed at the studio owned by ‘Jacknife’ Lee, a hacienda in Topanga Canyon, the one time hippy commune and former home to Neil Young and Woody Guthrie. Backing vocals were recorded by the LA Inner City Mass Gospel Choir in Compton, and Troy Van Leuwen from Queens Of The Stone Age provides additional guitars on two tracks.

The result is a 14-track album that breaks new ground for Snow Patrol. Bolting distorted, electro guitar riffs, club-friendly drums and anthemic choruses to Gary Lightbody’s heart-bruised lyricism, ‘Fallen Empires’ takes its cues from LCD Soundsystem’s ‘The Sound Of Silver’, U2’s ‘Achtung Baby’ and Arcade Fire’s ‘The Suburbs’. Despite the experimentation, ‘Fallen Empires’ retains the essence of Snow Patrol’s appeal. The catch-all emotional dynamics are still there: the soulful ‘New York’ feels like a festival moment-in-waiting; ‘The Garden Rules’ a soundtrack to autumnal romance, and in ‘This Isn’t Everything You Are’ Snow Patrol have created another starkly beautiful masterpiece, the equal of their classics ‘Run’ and ‘Chasing Cars’.




23/24/25 – Belfast Odyssey Arena
27 – Glasgow SECC
30 – Aberdeen AECC
31 – Liverpool Arena




1 – Nottingham Arena
3 – Manchester MEN Arena
4 – Birmingham LG Arena
5 – Newcastle Arena
7 – Sheffield Arena
8 – Bournemouth BIC
10 – London 02 Arena

For more information visit the official Snow Patrol website.

Leave a Reply