WAAX have a new video out for “Read Receipts”, watch now

By Dom Smith
By June 8, 2022 Culture, News

Ahead of the release of their highly anticipated second studio album, At Least I’m Free out August 5 via Dew ProcessWAAX has shared the vividly charged new single “Read Receipts,” alongside the accompanying music video.

Reunited with Director Phoebe Fay (“Dangerous” + “Help Me Hell), the powerful video captures a fierce and awe-inspiring performance from DeVita, as she channels the energy, rage and emotion of the song. “The video was a huge step for me as I had never really acted as a character in anything before, I was totally outside of my comfort zone,” says DeVita.   “It’s like a mafia inspired moment where I play the boss or ‘the Donna’ and I’m doing a deal with this nondescript man with a helmet. Most people know I love to do things that relate to my Italian heritage so it was super fun to explore this concept. Phoebe and her team really helped us create an epic vibe – especially the car scenes! Super slick and a fun and different vibe for us,” she adds.

The four-piece has also announced an exclusive solid 925 sterling silver pendant individually carved with the WAAX logo, designed in collaboration between DeVita and Onyx Handmade. The textural surface is unique to each pendant, as these are each made by hand. No molds or mass production. The surface will continue to gain texture as the wearer moves through life. With each extra mark adding to its story. Available now to pre-order for one week only from the band’s website, this pendant will also come with a download of the album, as well as hand written lyrics to “Read Receipts.”


1. Mermaid Beach

2. Read Receipts

3. A Man Like Me

4. No Doz

5. Most Hated Girl

6. Beam Me Up

7. Dangerous

8. Jeff On The Streets

9. Help Me Hell

10. Same Bitch

11. Whoever


On At Least I’m Free, WAAX teamed up with the production team behind their debut breakout album Big Grief – Bernard Fanning (Powderfinger) and Grammy Award-Winner Nick DiDia (Bruce Springsteen). Featuring the aforementioned “Read Receipts,” the QMA Award winning single “Most Hated Girl,” “Help Me Hell” and the Linda Perry co-written track “Dangerous,” their second LP features some fresh collaborations, including rock superstar K.Flay on the standout “No Doz.” The result is an honest and indignant album laden with raw vulnerability and contrasted by the high octane energy WAAX is renowned for.


The new music follows on from WAAX’s sold-out national Dangerous tour, where they teased new music and celebrated their compelling discography to date.  Next, the Meanjin based four-piece will be back on the road in July as they accompany The Amity Affliction for shows in Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, and Perth.



Tuesday 12 July – Forum Theatre, Melbourne VIC *

Wednesday 13 July – Forum Theatre, Melbourne VIC *

Thursday 14 July – The Roundhouse UNSW, Sydney NSW *

Friday 15 July – The Roundhouse UNSW, Sydney NSW *

Friday 22 July – Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide SA *

Saturday 23 July – Metro City, Perth WA *

Leave a Reply