Eels to release 10th album ‘Wonderful, Glorious’ in February 2013

By Dom Smith
By October 22, 2012 News, World

Eels’ new album ‘Wonderful, Glorious’ is out February 4 on ‘E Works’.

Eels recorded ‘Wonderful, Glorious’ at Everett’s new Los Feliz, CA studio. Dubbed The Compound, the new space invigorated Everett’s writing process. “It was exciting,” he says, “it filled me with hope for limitless possibilities. And I realised I’d had a similar feeling when I first put the band together for the last two tours.” The band, which features guitarists The Chet and P-Boo, bass player Koool G Murder and drummer Knuckles, all had a hand in the writing of ‘Wonderful, Glorious’. “The only rule I had was ‘let’s try it,’” says Everett. “If anyone in the room had an idea, I’d say ‘let’s try it.’”

In the four years prior to his album trilogy, Everett embarked on a number of projects including his acclaimed autobiography Things the Grandchildren Should Know and the BBC-produced multiple-award winning Parallel Worlds, Parallel Lives documentary film about E and his quantum physicist father, Hugh Everett III, which was broadcast on PBS’ Nova series in the U.S., fall of 2008. “All this time during the making of all these other projects, I was always writing and recording music,” says Everett. “Every time I branch out and try something else, I think it will be some kind of relief to take a break from music. But I always come back with my tail between my legs, because there’s nothing I enjoy more than making music. The other projects have been great experiences for me, but this is what I love to do.”

‘Wonderful, Glorious’

1. ‘Bombs Away’

2. ‘Kinda Fuzzy’

3. ‘Accident Prone’

4. ‘Peach Blossom’

5. ‘On The Ropes’

6. ‘The Turnaround’

7. ‘New Alphabet’

8. ‘Stick Together’

9. ‘True Original’

10. ‘Open My Present’

11. ‘You’re My Friend’

12. ‘I Am Building A Shrine’

13. ‘Wonderful, Glorious’

Leave a Reply