Hot Water Music ready first album in eight years, ‘Exister’

By Editor
By March 1, 2012 January 11th, 2013 World

Hot Water Music are readying their first album in eight years. The record is titled ‘Exister’, and the tracklisting is below.


“For us, calling the album ‘Exister’, I think it’s a bit of a ‘we’re still here, and we’re not going away anytime soon’ type of statement,” says bassist Jason Black, about the name of their forthcoming album due out on Rise Records on May 14, 2012.


Recorded this past January at the Blasting Room in Fort Collins, CO with The Decendents’ Bill Stevenson (Bouncing Souls, Rise Against, NOFX) in the producer’s chair. “Recording the album was amazing… better than any of us expected, for sure,” Jason continues. “It seems like the time off, coupled with everything we’ve all learned doing other projects and honing our respective crafts during that time, really worked in our favor and enabled to have a basically unending flow of ideas and creative sparks.”

Their first album since ‘The New What Next’ in 2004, ‘Exister’ finds the band perhaps a wee bit worldlier but no less fiery. Hot Water Music first formed in 1993 in Gainesville, FL and quickly rose to the top of the post-hardcore punk scene. After releasing seven studio albums, two compilations, one live album and countless numbers of 7″s, EPs and splits, the band took an indefinite hiatus in 2005 but reunited in 2008 and have been playing numerous festivals, quick tour runs, and one-off shows ever since.

“I feel like we accomplished more than we’d ever dreamed years ago. So from those points on, it all feels like a blessing,” adds Chuck. “Granted, it is hard work and we do make sacrifices to do what we love, but at the end of the day, if we can hang onto the bond and the reasons that HWM began in the first place and what drove us all those years, then we’ve done our job. If we can continue playing our hearts out, smiling while doing it and continue to grow as friends and as musicians close to 20 years later, then we’ve succeeded beyond all of my hopes and expectations.”

Celebrating the release of the record this May, the band will be playing European dates before heading to the UK for a special show at the Old Blue Last in London on May 2.


The tracklistingfor ‘Exister’  is as follows:


1- ‘Mainline’
2 – ‘Boy, You’re Gonna Hurt Someone’
3 – ‘State of Grace’
4 – ‘Drown In It’
5 – ‘Drag My Body’
6 – ‘Safety’
7 – ‘Exister’
8 – ‘Wrong Way’
9 – ‘Take No Prisoners’
10 – ‘Pledge Wore Thin’
11 – ‘No End Left In Sight’
12 – ‘The Traps’
13 – ‘Paid In Full’


For more information visit the official Hot Water Music website.

Leave a Reply