Mother Mother are to release third studio album ‘Eureka’

By April 28, 2011 December 17th, 2016 World

Canadian band Mother Mother are set to release their third studio album ‘Eureka’ through Last Gang Records, with a UK release of May 9, 2011. The album offers up eccentric, hook laden pop-meets-rock songs.


The 12 track disc was produced by Mother Mother’s own Ryan Guldemond and mixed by Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Franz Ferdinand, Elvis Costello). Guldemond, the group’s chief songwriter and front man describes the album as “a vivid depiction of where the band’s at right now, which is the height of our musicianship, song writing and strength as collaborators”.     


In the signature Mother Mother animal themed vein, the cover art portrays a techni-coloured Lion, baring its teeth.  Female vocalist and synth player, Molly Guldemond (sister to Ryan), is the resident artist in charge.  “Our new songs are bolder and more animated, so I chose to use vibrant neons and brighter colours than ever before. The word ‘eureka’ suggests epiphany and exciting discovery. The lion represents the animal instinct in us to pursue these breakthroughs; a predatory sense to hunt for deeper truth”.


Although principally an upbeat collection of songs, the dark lyrical tone, a signature element of the Mother Mother package, is alive and well in the album’s wordplay.  “The Stand”, EUREKA’s incredibly addictive leadoff single is an urban hip hop tinged tale of a “misanthrope who corrupts the minds of two young school girls” as described by Ryan, who wrote most of the song in his head as a “silly rap style thing to bide time in transit”.


The album’s first track, “Chasing It Down”, laments the demise of the newness in things, while wearing the skin of an epic, Deep Purple-esque rocker, complete with a formidable organ hook.  The quintessential slow song, “Born In A Flash”, might just be the band at its most haunting and morose ever as this piano driven heavyweight marches through a versatile landscape of lush strings, choral beegees, and a killer back beat and bass line.  “Simply Simple” is just that, a perfect advocacy of the ‘less is more’ doctrine, while the dreamy “Getaway”, with Molly singing lead in her unique, gentle timbre, is the plight of an escapist.  


Mother Mother has graced the stage with such artists as Weezer, Pearl Jam, Tokyo Police Club, The Decemberists and Spoon as well as touring with Canadian rockers Sam Roberts and Matthew Good. They have performed on a diverse array of festival/showcase stages including SXSW, CMJ, The Great Escape, Liverpool Sound City, Pop Montreal, V-Fest, Ottawa Blues Fest, Ed Fest, Rifflandia Music Festival, both the Vancouver and Montreal International Jazz Festivals, and the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympic Games concert series LiveCity.


Since the band’s conception as an acoustic folk trio in 2005, they have become reputed as an act who challenges the conventions of popular music, cultivating a sound all their own.  With substantial headway made in the US and Europe, Mother Mother continue to build on that momentum with ‘Eureka’. 


Eureka tracklisting


1. Chasing It Down


2. The Stand


3. Baby Don’t Dance


4. Original Spin


5. Born in a Flash


6. Simply Simple


7. Problems


8. Aspiring Fires


9. Getaway


10. Far in Time


11. Oleander


12. Calm Me Down




For more information please visit the official website.