New Metallica EP goes on sale

By Editor
By January 24, 2012 World

A four-track EP of songs which missed the cut on Metallica’s ‘Death Magnetic’ LP will go on general release next week, following an exclusive online sale last month.


The band, who celebrated their 30th anniversary last week with a series of special concerts at the Fillmore in San Francisco, explain about the ‘Beyond Magnetic’ set: “During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs. When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you’ve all come to know over the last three years. Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on ‘Mission Metallica’ or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, ‘What ever happened to those other four songs?'”


“We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them just for this special celebration, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions,” they continue. “They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March ’08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they’re being made available to you.”


Those four tracks are:

1 – ‘Hate Train’

2 – ‘Just A Bullet Away’

3 – ‘Hell And Back’

4 – ‘Rebel Of Babylon’


The ‘Beyond Magnetic’ EP was released exclusively on iTunes in December.


UPDATE (JANUARY 24): The postponed general release of Metallica’s ‘Beyond Magnetic’ EP will now be on January 30.

Leave a Reply