School Of Seven Bells ready ghostly new record for February

By December 20, 2011 December 21st, 2014 World

‘Ghostory’ is the anticipated third album from New Yorkers, School Of Seven Bells. This returning album finds the band’s lineup evolved along with the music; formerly a trio, the band is now a duo: guitarist/producer Benjamin Curtis and vocalist Alejandra Deheza. The album is out on February 27, 2011 via Full Time Hobby.


Recorded in-between tours, ‘Ghostory’ comes with a story in mind; the tale of a young girl named Lafaye and the ghosts that surround her life. “Everyone has ghosts”, says Alejandra Deheza; “They’re every love you’ve ever had, every hurt, every betrayal, every heartbreak. They follow you, stay with you.”

‘Ghostory’ is the result of a shared songwriting process. “‘Ghostory’ is our most collaborative music to date,” describes Benjamin Curtis, “Alley (Alejandra) and I have always written our music together, but always independently and on our own time. We knew we wanted to do something that was more sensual and spontaneous than anything we had ever done before, and that meant writing together in a room, coming up with ideas quickly and immediately reacting to what the other person was doing.” Through ‘Ghostory’, the story of both Lafaye’s and the band’s journey will be told.


The ‘Ghostory’ tracklist is below.


1 – ‘The Night’
2 – ‘Love Play’
3 – ‘Lafaye’
4 – ‘Low Times’
5 – ‘Reappear’
6 – ‘Show Me Love’
7 – ‘Scavenger’
8 – ‘White Wind’
9 – ‘When You Sing’

Listen to and download opening track ‘The Night’ here: