Video: Youth Man – ‘Fat Dead Elvis’

By Dom Smith
By April 11, 2016 August 27th, 2016 News, Videos, Videos Of The Week

Birmingham noise-punk trio Youth Man are extremely pleased to announce that their new EP ‘Wax’ will be released on 1st July 2016 on VENN Records, the independent label owned by visceral punks Gallows, and home to releases from Heck, Marmozets, Milk Teeth, Moose Blood and more.

Youth Man


Fans can get a taster of the new EP – which was recorded completely live in one session – on frenetic and caustic new track ‘Fat Dead Elvis’. It’s a typically oppressive and raw cut from the band, dripping in overdriven scuzzy guitars and trashy cymbals that highlight their off-kilter approach to punk.

Released digitally and on limited edition 300 pressing 12″ on frosted clear wax, the record features artwork by drummer Marcus Perks – an original sculpture made of clay, candles, dentures and googly eyes. The band also took a ton of polaroids during the recording process which will be exclusively available in a booklet that is ONLY available with the vinyl copy of the EP – preorders are on sale now:

Commenting on the unorthodox recording sessions that lead to the completion of the new record, the band explain in more detail: “With ‘Wax’ we wanted to make a record that properly captured our live sound. We wrote the tracks in between tours last year and playing them live felt good for us, so we extended that vibe to the studio and recorded the EP through the night in one live session. They’re night time songs. We wrote them at night and play them at night and you can hear that on the songs.”

Leave a Reply