MACHINE HEAD announce new album, ‘ØF KINGDØM AND CRØWN’, drop new track/video

By April 12, 2022 Culture, News

MACHINE HEAD have announced the details of their forthcoming 10th studio album, the immense and unapologetic, ‘ØF KINGDØM AND CRØWN,’ set for release on August 26th, 2022. Check out the video for the ferocious debut track, ‘CHØKE ØN THE ASHES ØF YØUR HATE,’ below.

‘ØF KINGDØM AND CRØWN’ is a 13-track concept album set in a decimated futuristic wasteland where the sky is stained crimson red. The crux of the story is based around 2 main characters.

Character #1 Ares: (pronounced Aries), our lead, who loses the love of his life (Amethyst) and goes on a murderous rampage against the vile sect responsible for her murder.

Character #2 Eros: (pronounced Arrows) the perpetrator, who loses his mother to a drug overdose and becomes radicalized in the aftermath. Eros goes off the deep end manifesting his own killing spree.

The lyrics detail how their lives intertwine.

MACHINE HEAD mastermind Robb Flynn comments,

“Thanks to my two teenage boys, my family has become obsessed with this awesome Japanese anime series called ‘Attack On Titan.’ The album’s concept was loosely inspired by the series in the sense that in the storyline, there is no “good” or “bad” guy – both characters believe they’re doing the right thing as it applies to their being. But make no mistake, both are committing acts of pure atrocity and evil. The opening track ‘SLAUGHTER THE MARTYR’ is basically our character #1’s origin story.”

The colossal concept comes with a list of equally colossal packaging for various physical formats including 12 different worldwide vinyl formats, a deluxe vinyl box set [with bonus tracks] and CD, (old-school Long Box CD, Jewel Box CD), multi-colour cassette options, and a limited-edition Digipak with bonus tracks. Check out all physical format options at the Official Store and Nuclear Blast Store linked here.

CD’s, Digipak, and all digital formats will be available on Aug 26th. All vinyl formats arrive on Nov 25th.

MACHINE HEAD and Sweden’s Viking metal overlords AMON AMARTH are also teaming up for a colossal co-headline ‘Vikings And Lionhearts’ arena tour, set to rampage across Europe in September & October 2022.  Joining the metallic pairing to open the show are THE HALO EFFECT, a new band featuring five luminaries of Swedish melodic death metal and pioneers of the genre; Peter Iwers, Daniel Svensson, Jesper Stromblad, Niclas Engelin and Mikael Stanne.

Tickets are available hereMACHINE HEAD will close the show on all UK dates. Check out the tour trailer below.

Full dates run as follows:

ELECTRIC HAPPY HOUR (LIVE)

Wed 31st Aug – GLASGOW – Garage – SOLD OUT

Fri 2nd Sep – INVERNESS – Ironworks

Sun 4th Sep – ABERDEEN – Lemontree – SOLD OUT

Mon 5th Sep – DUNDEE – Fat Sams

Tue 6th Sep – EDINBURGH, Liquid Room – SOLD OUT

MACHINE HEAD & AMON AMARTH ‘VIKINGS & LIONHEARTS’ TOUR

Thu 8th Sept – NOTTINGHAM – Motorpoint Arena

Fri 9th Sept – CARDIFF – Motorpoint Arena

Sat 10th Sept – LONDON – The SSE Arena, Wembley

Mon 12th Sept – MANCHESTER – AO Arena

Tue 13th Sept – DUBLIN – 3Arena

Fri 16th Sept – ZURICH – Hallenstadion

Sat 17th Sept – VIENNA – Stadthalle

Sun 18th Sept – KRAKOW – Tauron Arena

Tue 20th Sept – TALLINN – Saku Arena

Wed 21st Sept – HELSINKI – Ice Hall

Fri 23rd Sept – OSLO – Spektrum

Sat 24th Sept – STOCKHOLM – Hovet

Mon 26th Sept – COPENHAGEN – Forum Black Box

Tue 27th Sept – HAMBURG – Barclays Arena

Wed 28th Sept – FRANKFURT – Festhalle

Fri 30th Sept – OBERHAUSEN – König Pilsener Arena

Sat 1st Oct – BERLIN – Velodrome

Sun 2nd Oct – AMSTERDAM – Afas Live

Tue 4th Oct – MILAN – Lorenzini District

Thu 6th Oct – BARCELONA – Sant Jordi

Fri 7th Oct – MADRID – Vistalegre

Sat 8th Oct – LA CORUNA – Coliseum

Sun 9th Oct – LISBON – Campo Pequeno

Wed 12th Oct – PARIS – Zenith

Fri 14th Oct – MUNICH – Olympiahalle

Sat 15th Oct – LEIPZIG – Arena

Sun 16th Oct – PRAGUE – Tipsport Arena

Tue 18th Oct – BUDAPEST – Barba Negra

Thu 20th Oct – ESCH SUR ALZETTE – Rockhal

Fri 21st Oct – BRUSSELS – Forest National

Sat 22nd Oct – STUTTGART – Schleyerhalle