Sonic Boom Six announce new album and tour

By July 22, 2012 January 16th, 2017 Manchester, News

Manchester’s Sonic Boom Six announce the release of their self-titled album for their brand new label, Xtra Mile Recordings, on October 15. The band can also announce a month long (almost) November headline tour, starting on November 2 in Nottingham and ending on November 24 in Newport, and the forthcoming single from the album will be ‘Virus’, being released September 17.

Laila K, vocalist and frontwoman from SB6, on both the new album and signing to Xtra Mile Recordings; “Not only is ‘Sonic Boom Six’ like the start of a new day for SB6, but I truly believe it’s the best record we’ve ever made. The whole purpose of the album was to get our ethos and message out in a way that is inclusive and inviting to everyday people. We don’t want to be preaching to the converted any more, we actually want to change minds and viewpoints, not confirm what people already know. I think that’s exactly why we’re so excited about working with Xtra Mile. Not only are some of our favorite artists on there but they’ve actually proven with Frank Turner that they can make an artist accessible and popular within the public eye while retaining the core message and philosophy that the artist came into the industry with. That’s something that is vital to us, so it’s a perfect fit!”

Produced and mixed by Peter Miles (Futures, We Are The Ocean, The King Blues), ‘Sonic Boom Six’ builds on the band’s previous reputation for progressive, genre-hopping punk rock, by adding contemporary electronica, crushing rock riffs, huge vocal hooks and anthemic song-writing to the mix. ‘Sonic Boom Six’ also features the vocal talents of SB6 friends and allies Jimbo Baxter (Population, ex-Freaks Union) Kat Marsh (Lionface, ex-The King Blues), Mike Attack (Rat Attack) and the debut recorded performance of Kerrang! 105.2 DJ Matt Stocks, as the emergency radio broadcaster on ‘S.O.S (State of Shock)’.

A full list of SB6 November UK headline dates are:


2 – Nottingham, Rock City Basement

3 – Leicester, Soundhouse

4 – Manchester, Academy 3

5 – Leeds, Cockpit 2

6 – Glasgow, King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut

8 – Hull, Welly

9 – Bedford, Esquires

10 – Cheltenham, Frog & Fiddle

12 – Bristol, The Croft

13 – Exeter, Cavern

15 – Plymouth The White Rabbit

16 – Truro B-Side, Bunters

17 – Andover, The George

18 – Portsmouth, Wedgewood Rooms

20 – Norwich, Waterfront (Upstairs)

21 – London, The Borderline

22 – Birmingham, O2 Academy 3

23 – Newcastle, O2 Academy 2

24 – Newport, Meze Lounge

For more information visit the official Sonic Boom Six website.